Re-polling in two more polling stations!

Hours before the commencement of re-polling in five polling stations in Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh, the Election Commission of India on Saturday announced re-polling in two more polling stations.

The two polling stations where re-polling will be held on Sunday are: Kuppam Baduru and Kaluru of Ramachandrapuram block in the district, falling under Chandragiri assembly constituency and Chittoor Lok Sabha constituency.

Already, the EC ordered re-polling in five polling booths in Kammapalli, N R Kammapalle, Pulivarthipalli, Kothakandriga and Venkatrama Puram villages, all under Chandragiri, from 7 am to 6 pm. It would mean, there would be re-polling in seven polling stations in the constituency.

The decision to conduct re-polling was taken on the basis of a report submitted by chief electoral officer Gopala Krishna Dwivedi, following complaints from YSR Congress party candidate Chevireddy Bhaskar Reddy, who alleged that a section of voters were not allowed to cast their votes in some villages.

The Telugu Desam Party has been raising a hue and cry over the conduct of re-polling in Chandragiri, 38 days after the conduct of scheduled polling on April 11.

The EC already conducted re-polling in five other polling stations in three districts of Guntur, Nellore and Prakasam of Andhra Pradesh on May 6.

TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu wondered how the EC could conduct re-polling in phases, which was an unprecedented decision.