Etela Rajender banking on Padayatra for Huzurabad bypoll!

Leaders doing padayatra to directly meet the public to know the issues they face and to gain political mileage has become a trend and phenomenon in Telangana politics.

Before he was made TPCC Chief, T Congress leader held Padayatra for a brief period of time to meet the farmers to show the Congress’s stand against the Agriculture bills. Months after his Padayatra, he was made TPCC President.

Former TRS leader-Minister and current Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) leader Etela Rajender who waged war against Telangana Chief Minister KCR is gearing up for his Padayatra.

His Padayatra titled ‘Praja Jeevana Yatra’ will go on for 23 days covering 270 kilometres across 127 villages. The Padayatra will start from the Kamalapur Mandal today.

As per the information, Etela Rajender will be covering Shanigaram, Mandanna Pet, Guniparti, Sriramulapeta, and Ambala villages on the first day of the Padayatra.

Etela Rajender has taken the Huzurabad elections seriously and his wife has been campaigning for him in the constituency. The other day, she did a door-to-door campaign and held a press meet too.

Now it’s Etela Rajender’s turn to take things into his own hands. He is on a big mission to meet the public in the villages.

The Telangana wing of BJP is confident that the Padayatra will work in favour of the party and even the scenario will also be changed in the state.

It has to be noted that both TRS and BJP have taken the Huzurabad byelections as prestigious and the parties have been making their moves to see that they can attract the voters and win the polls.

Etela Rajender, who has been with the TRS since the start has joined BJP after he was stripped off his Cabinet post owing to the land allegations leveled against him. Since joining BJP, he became critical of TRS and KCR.

Padyatra has a rich history pertaining to Telangana politics. Former Chief Minister of combined Andhra Pradesh late YSR had embarked on Padayatra which made him close to the public and he went on to become the Chief Minister.

After YSR, TDP chief Nara Chandrababu, YS Jagan, YS Sharmila and others also held Padayatra. A few other leaders in the state have announced the same and are expected to start their respective Padayatra soon